Aa’s Declassified Campus Survival Guide: Pinterest Inspiration for YOUR dorm room|Kitchen

Hey MTV, Welcome to My Kitchen

Aa’s Declassified Campus Survival Guide is HERE to help YOU succeed on campus. I was going to put all of the dorm inspo. together on one blog, but your girl has too much to say so I decided to break things up into sections! 

 I don’t know about you, but the most exiting part about going to college is being able to decorate your own space! I mean I’ve dedicated all these years to watching Youtube “Room inspiration/college unboxing” videos, HGTV and House Hunters. I am ready!

This is YOUR chance to create the trendy, fun and customized living space you’ve always dreamed of.


DON’T FORGET: Talk it up with your roommates! 

If you share the entire dorm together or maybe just the common area, decide on what you want your new home to look like. This will make it easier and more fun to put everything together!


If your new apartment/kitchen doesn’t have a lot of floor space, STACKING is going to be your new best friend. Create more room and floor space in your humble abode by stretching your room VERTICALLY. (Pictured above) All you need are shelves, bins and a creative mind!

Get Toasty!

I’m sure you’ll have a microwave in your dorm room, but this little guy is on a whole other level! If you can afford to snag an extra appliance for your new space, this toaster oven is great! I had one in my apartment and even though we had a full kitchen, we all used to toaster oven more than our real one! It works faster, takes SECONDS to heat up, is easy to use and there’s no hassle to it! Every morning became effortless to warm up mcmuffins, pop tarts, waffles and bagels!

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 8.01.36 PM Prices vary from $20-$50+

Check out this one from Amazon.Com! Oster Toaster Oven

Stretch your room VERTICALLY

Screen Shot 2017-05-29 at 1.27.31 PM

Have FUN with your small space, and know that just because you may not have a lot to work with, doesn’t mean your room can’t be the trendiest room in your hall. Mason Jars, Decorative cups/buckets other storage bins will benefit you SO much! I love to get mine from target, ross or even the craft and thrift stores.

Also, set your snacks and small treats behind your door! (In the photo above.) It really helps keep everything organized, and there’s less clutter.

 

 

Got Carts?

Utility Carts are extremely trendy, purposeful and helpful! I would have never thought of using one and I wish I could fit one in my room. They’re a variety of different ones, but I love the sleek look of this one from Amazon: Altra Marshall Utility Cart (Btw, totally grab a can of spray paint if you want a specific look and switch up the color of your cart. D.I.Y!)

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 8.14.27 PM

Screen Shot 2017-05-29 at 1.28.07 PMIf you’re wondering, no this is not my stand. However, I wish it was. LOOK AT THIS BEAUTY! This is exactly something I would do if I needed to turn my small space into a posh one. Grab some photos of you and your beasties, your favorite snacks and maybe even some books and magazines and you could easily recreate this!

Another tip: I LOVE having flowers around my apartment, so I buy beautiful and bright arrangements (that are fake) from the DOLLAR STORE. They have vases and rocks there and it makes the world of a difference in a room.


If you have a bit more room…

If your apartment looks like mine and you could basically raise a whole family in it then #BLESSUP. I was so excited to decorate my new home with my roommates. I would definitely put a calendar in your common area. This will help everyone stay alert on campus events, activities and parties. Each month I’d look up these social events and make note of them on my calendar! I’ll even google “national days in July,August etc.” and you’ll find cute holidays such as National Pizza Day, and National Sibling Day! We even worked out a trash schedule each week and would remind one another by writing our name down each Monday on the fridge.

To recreate this look, take a group trip to Walmart and grab a white board (they’re only $10), expo markers, and maybe even some cute magnets too! Five Below has recently become one of my new favorites and they have the cutest personalized things to throw around your apartment. They have monogram letters, stickers and even some adorable pillows.

Got Utensils? 

Of course you could keep your utensils and silverware in a drawer, but who wants to do that?! Spice things up and put some of your utensils on display. I think this is an adorable idea. You could get mason jars anywhere like your local craft store and paid/decorate them however you like.

Crack open a book!

Have a cookbook, or a few magazines? If not, find some! A basket full of books would really modernize your room. They may never be read, but they truly look great! I have my favorite fashion magazines in the living room in my apartment and everyone notices it.

Got Soap?

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 7.45.17 PM.png

Set up your hand and dish soap in the cutest way possible by your sink! I have flowers (yes, from the dollar store) by the sink and they look amazing! Or, you could even get a cool pedestal to place it on.

Did someone say Coffee? 

A COFFE BAR IS NEEDED AND WILL CHANGE LIVES. Set up your creamers, sugar and coffee cups in a cute corner of the kitchen and watch your own Starbucks shop open!

Here’s What I did!

PlazaonUniversity66

A peep into my kitchen. (Including this model photo of my apartment)

The circle stickers from the bottom are from the dollar store! #Ballin

I made the coffee signs simply by buying frames from the dollar store, (ballin again) and printing photos at the library. The flowers are also brought to you by… guess who? THE DOLLAR STORE BABY!

The more color and decoration you have in your kitchen, the more homy-like and energetic it will feel to be in it! Have candles, vases and even fake fruit. (Or real fruit. Whatever floats your boat!)


What are you waiting for? Start decorating!

-Aa

Leave a Reply

