Meal prep with me IN THREE STEPS | Why, and how I do it!

 

What’s cookin’ good lookin’?

I wan’t to let you in on one of my favorite things in the whole world: FOOD. Specifically meal prepping! When you start meal prep, you cook enough food to last a week and divide them up into containers for each day. Just because you meal prep, or being to eat healthy doesn’t mean you have to starve yourself or eat nasty things. (Trust me, or I wouldn’t be so hooked on it!) Meal prepping saves money, is very efficient and IT’S FOOD – IT’S BOUND TO BE DELICIOUS!

Let’s chat a little bit about meal prepping! Follow me into the kitchen to find out why I meal prep, and exactly how I do it! It’s as easy as 1,2,3.

IMG_6684.jpg

Being a college student, I try to focus on three things when it comes to food:

  1. Do not by any means gain the “Freshman 15”
  2.  Do not spend money on fast food daily/more than once a week
  3. Do not spend forever cooking food each night

Don’t get me wrong, there’s a Chick-Fil-A and a Chipotle on every corner. Living in a college town I AM SMOTHERED IN FAST FOOD.

However, I always like to remind myself that $7-$10 on a meal from your favorite restaurant could be $7-$10 spent on a 5 pound bag of chicken to last you up to two weeks!

Food for thought! (I know – that pun wasn’t funny. Just had to get it out!)


Food Inspiration – My Pinterest Board: Eat Up!

Screen Shot 2017-01-31 at 9.40.09 PM.png

It wouldn’t be an Aa List blog post without Pinterest! From smoothies, to healthy snacks and meals to keep you energized throughout the day this board is perfect for foodspiration!

Alright students, pen and paper ready? Here we go!


Step 1: Choose your main dish!

img_6648

I buy my Boneless Skinless Chicken Breats from Walmart! I put them in a Ziplock bag and let them sit in warm water so they can thaw out.

I’m not Chef Boyardee just yet, so I like to keep it simple: Chicken. (However, just this week my dad helped me make Salmon for the first time!)

1)Alway’s put Olive oil on your pan before cooking

2) Don’t forget to check the middle of the chicken to make sure it’s fully cooked!

img_6651

3) SEASON. I love to use Mrs. Dash’s seasonings. The two I have right now are Southwest Chipotle, and Chicken! Yes we’re still eating healthy, but that doesn’t mean we can’t play around with flavors. Add some spice into your life!


 Step 2: Pick your sides!

If you remember one thing while figuring out how to meal prep:

  1. FILL your plate with greens. I love to eat spinach, asparagus, and broccoli. It’s super important that you’re eating vegetables.
  2. Add some brown rice and sodium free black beans into the mix as well!

Step 3: Prep!

If you haven’t already, make your way to The Dollar Store, 5 and Below, or Walmart because Tupperware is your new best friend!

Simply place everything you cooked into a container. I like to cook enough for the whole week! This way after a long day I can reach into the fridge and wait 2 minutes for a hot meal.


BONUS!

Step 4: Enjoy (and take photos)

Wether you meal prep for lunch, snack, and/or dinner, I know you’ll reap the benefits of meal prepping! Enjoy everything that’s on your plate.

Items in photos L to R:

1. Brocoli, chicken, and black beans.

     2.  My “Chipotle.”

If you love Chipotle as much as I do, you can prep it right at home! Of course, keep everything healthy. I made a chicken bowl with: black beans, brown rice, fat free mozzarella cheese, and lettuce.

3. Salmon, brown rice, and asparagus


I do reccomend playing around with new foods, seasonings and using your meats in various platters so that you never get tired of eating the same thing! It’s really easy and neat to see how many different meals you can make with just a few items.

img_6685

See you around!

-Aa

One thought on “Meal prep with me IN THREE STEPS | Why, and how I do it!

  1. Lise says:

    Food prep is always great! I think the problem for most people is that they don’t add in enough variety and think they have to eat the same dish for a week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

