The Aa Lister Turns 18! Happy Birthday To Me | What was I doing on 9/11/2001?

“From birth to age eighteen, a girl needs good parents. From eighteen to thirty-five, she needs good looks. From thirty-five to fifty-five, she needs a good personality. From fifty-five on, she needs good cash.” -Sophie Tucker

My first blog post not only a year older, but as an actual adult! Happy Birthday to me. I’m so excited to see what this year bring me! I’m not sure what I want to do specifically for my birthday, but I do hope to go to Disney sometime this year, and go on my first cruise! (That’s a hint for my mom and dad.) I can’t wait to keep accomplishing my goals, and dreams. I can’t believe how fast I’ve grown up! I think we all remember some of our favorite memories as children, and wish we could go back to them.

So happy that my girls could help me bring in my “New Year” last night! They made sure to check their clocks for 12:00, and when the time did come, they had their phone lights in my face and would not stop screaming! Some other people joined in around us to, and I was even convinced to dance in the middle of a circle BY MYSELF ! (I’m not sure how well my dance moves were – considering I only have about 3 of them, but it was pretty cool!) My parents also came in town and surprised my yesterday and traveled just to see me. I think it’s safe to say I am one happy girl.

img_4283

At the age of 18, I can say I’ve already accomplished things in life my 8 year old self would’ve never thought I could do. I’ve met amazing people, traveled the world, and I’ve gained so much more confidence in myself as I’ve grown up over the years. I am so blessed for everything and everyone I have come across in life, because I have learned so much about myself.

 What I was doing on 9/11: For me, the day of my birthday was normal until September 11th, 2001. I always get gasps, and “Oh, I’m sorry” whenever I tell people what day my birthday is. I assume it’s because they relate it to me possibly being born on the exact day of the event, or possibly the fact that it’s unfourtunate. I’m sure this day was normal for every American, until 2001 considering so many lives were lost, and the hearts of thousands – shattered. I love my birthday, but countless times do I take time to think of how many people will no longer set foot on this Earth with their families – and it breaks my heart. Since 2001, standing up for a moment of silence at school or attending memorial assembly’s have been routine – and at the same time, I would be carrying balloons, cupcakes, and a pink fuzzy birthday tiara would be on my head simultaneously.

img_4281

That morning at kinder care ( I was 3) on September 11th, 2001, my dad dropped me off in the cutest outfit I owned to make me feel like the most important thing alive. My older sister was in middle school at the time, and was already gone at school. My dad told me he was planning on coming back by lunch time to bring cupcakes to celebrate with my class. My mother was currently serving in the U.S. Army, so she was already at work. After a few hours while my dad was home, he saw the planes hit Twin Towers on the news and immediately called my mom and then proceeded to pick up my sisters and I from school. Considering I was too young to understand, from there all I knew was that “something very bad happened somewhere.” We watched the news and eventually got a hold of my mother who said she wouldn’t be able to come home tonight. Eventually, a few days later I still had my birthday party at kinder care.


Today, now that I understand 9/11, I hope you take today to do your research. Maybe watch the news from that day, take a moment of silence, a prayer, or even learn about someone who has passed. Thank a police officer, a firefighter, or do an act of kindness today. We should always be grateful for the life we live, because no day is promised. Of course everyone wants to feel special on their birthday, I can attest to that! But, not all of today is about me. Happy birthday to The Aa Lister herself. God bless America – and every life that has been lost.

never-forget-911.jpg

“Even the smallest act of service, the simplest act of kindness, is a way to honor those we lost, a way to reclaim that spirit of unity that followed 9/11.”
—President Obama

2 thoughts on “The Aa Lister Turns 18! Happy Birthday To Me | What was I doing on 9/11/2001?

Leave a Reply

