An Open Letter To: My Mom

“My mother was the most beautiful woman I ever saw. All I am I owe to my mother. I attribute my success in life to the moral, intellectual and physical education I received from her.”
― George Washington

14224928_1239777859387684_9025249675080775117_n

Dear Mommy,

     I can only imagine the excitement you had when you found out you were having another little girl. Since that day, I know you protected me with everything you had. You probably thought of the things I would say, how I would look, and the type of tiny princess I would soon become. After years of burping, hand holding, and rocking back to sleep, I have now grown up into a reflection of you; and I couldn’t be happier.

     This doesn’t do any justice, but for the millionth time I just want to say thank you. I know life isn’t easy and I know I haven’t made it any easier for you. You’ve been the best role model I could ever ask for. Nothing is impossible when the task is placed in your hands. Everything I am, I owe to you. My heart, body, soul, and spirit are pure and drenched in gold because of the temple you raised me in. Thank you for being my rock, my supporter, and my number one fan. Anytime I had a new idea you were always right behind me with “Sure babe. Let’s do it! Whatever you want to do, mom will help.” You always know what’s best for me, and let’s face it – when I’m running late, you always know where my shoes are.

     Next, I just want to say I’m sorry. I’m sorry for all the times where I took you for granted. When I thought I knew everything at 13, and never listened to a single word you said. I’m sorry for the million and one times I caught an attitude with you for the smallest things. If God allows me to be at least half of the woman you are, then my life as a mother years from now is bright. There’s nothing I want more in life than to make you proud, and give you the Universe, only because you have given me the World.

I wouldn’t be the person I am today without you, and I thank God for you each and every day. Thank you for giving me everything, even when you have nothing. I love you to the end of the Earth and back.

Love,

Your baby girl.

12011361_765907233531794_64275043158683357_n

Leave a Reply

